Thursday, January 31, 2013

Its never easy to say goodbye...

In fact, sometimes its one of the most painful things we as humans have to do.  But alas, it's time for me to say goodbye to another friend who's losing his battle with cancer.

My heart is breaking into so many pieces as I type this.  I just cannot imagine a world with out MG in it. 
MG came to Wa for work and we got together to have beers - I think this was in 2007 or 2008. I can't remember

I met MG at TASIS my junior year. We were in many of the same classes since the junior class was so small.  My first real memory of him was sitting in American History class and him passing a note to me asking me what I wanted to be when I grew up. That note got passed back and forth between us a dozen times during class.  At the end of it I was going to draw maps in history books and he was going to drive cabs.

A lot has changed since those days.
Hello 80's. Prom night. That's me on the left, MG, and best friend CN.

He was one of my many Mike crushes.  I've had so many crushes on boys named Mike that I've lost count.  But I adored him.  He was so kind, gentle, sarcastic, and a bit nerdy at times that I just couldn't help myself.  It would never be though. We'd grow to become such great friends that dating just wasn't in the cards.  I'm glad now because I shutter to think what a break up in high school would have cost me. 

Through the years we've kept touch periodically.  And yet no matter the amount of time that went by we could pick up our conversation as if time hadn't passed.  I cherish those times now.

MG is dying. He was diagnosed with melanoma a couple of years ago and kept from us just how bad it really is.  I've only just learned that he won't be with us much more than a couple of weeks.  Hospice is his home now. 

In my walk down memory lane tonight I pulled out my year book from my senior year. TASIS was different in that each senior, or two seniors got a page they got to design and write whatever they wanted to and put whatever photos they wanted.

Naturally I wrote something to MG:
"Mike - Thanks for "caring"...our inside jokes have kept me laughing all year.  I will return now to the "real Washington" where apples and slugs rule the world.  I love ya Verde. I probably don't even realize yet how much you've impacted me life."

Hmph! If I had only known.

MG wrote this to me (and I cry now as I type it):
Jennifer - As far as I'm concerned there are no words to describe how I feel about you. I've thought about it since St.Moritz and I realize that I don't deserve a friend as good as you. I love you and I'm going to miss you lots (and that still doesn't say what I feel)."

Well MG...I love you and I'm really going to miss you too.  Be in peace my friend.

1997 Class Reunion - 10 years

2007 Class Reunion - 20 years


Monday, January 28, 2013

There's a new blog entry coming...

and here it is.

I know I've been less than chatty on this blog and I'm really trying to be better at it. Each time I sit down to start a new blog it sounds boring, and or doesn't make sense.  So I delete it and deem it necessary to wait a day to write it.

Next thing I know, it's been a week.

So what's happened since last we spoke. Holy crap it's been two weeks. 

1. The Getting Started Meetings for the 3 day has started. These are one of my favorite parts of the 3day events. They're basically meetings for folks who are thinking about signing up to come to and learn about the 3Day. As volunteers we stand around and answer questions or provide comic relief, depends on the meeting. Then we watch a video and we cry. Every. Single. Time.

2. This month started the first of a dinner club I started. The Landlords, Blueberry and I many, MANY moons ago used to go and try new restaurants all the time. Then we stopped when I got poorer.  Then we kept saying we were going to do it. Then we never did. So sometime last December I suggested we pick a day every month and we go out and try new restaurants. Being the good PM I am I created a schedule of who picks in what month.  Mr. Landlord picked a Japanese Tappen Yaki place in Bellevue called - cleverly - The Japanese Steak House. It was a good, and I ate a lot.


3. Also that week was our first book club meeting. As with everything it seems, we chat about doing it and then nothing happens.  Again with the PM hat, I put together a schedule and the first book was chosen.  The schedule also included that whomever picked the book that month hosts the book club. 

January we red Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand (same writer who did Seabiscuit). The book is a WWII story about one guy and his survival.  He's lost at sea after his plane goes down and is a POW. It's a fantastic read and I highly recommend it.

Book club ended up being at my house even though Seattle SIL picked the book - she had other more complicated things to deal with so I offered. We ate tacos and sat around talking about everything under the sun, oh and we talked about the book too.

4. I got a cold. Then nothing happened for 5 days. I'm still recovering from said cold, but I feel way better.

5. Seattle SIL had her first fund raiser for the 3day this past weekend and hosted an All day scrap.  I have been "staging" my scrapbook pages for several weeks now and it felt good to actually do some scrapping.  Blueberry made fun of my overly organized staging process - but hey, I got about 16 pages done to her 8. So there.

I could provide you a process doc of what I go through to be prepared to scrap, but I'll spare you. I'm nice that way.

6. I received some bad news yesterday that I'm still trying to process. I'll eventually blog about it, but just am not sure what to say about it just yet. Let me just say this. You here the phrase all too often, "Live each day as if it's your last" - do it. And if there's some friend or family member you've been meaning to reach out to and see - do it. Just do it.




Tuesday, January 15, 2013

There's a Party on the roof...roof top of the wold...

Happy Tuesday. If you have no reason to be happy today, just think, you're alive.  That is reason enough. That and you're reading this blog.

First things first, Sunday dinner came and went.  The usual suspects were there this month and for some unexplained reason everyone was super chatty. It might have been the wine (we polished off 4 bottles somehow) or it just might be that this crowd is starting to feel too comfortable with each other. Either way, it was a great Sunday dinner. Not that all of them aren't great, but this one felt...well more special.

Dinner was Roasted Lemon & White Bean Hummus (OMG Sooo Good), Bloody Mary Flank Steak (delicious!), twice baked potatoes (molten hot), Balsamic Green Beans (I need to make these daily).  I managed to not have too many left overs - much to the Pantry Goat's dismay.


Usual Suspects - Left to Right: BigBro, Queen PopUp, Seattle SIL, Mr&Mrs. Atlanta, Mr. QueenPopUp, Pantry Goat, The Landlords, the Yank, PhotoGirl and moi.
In other non-food related news, I've got big news.  For some of you, you'll probably roll your eyes and think it's no big deal, but for me, its a big deal.

I ran for 5 minutes straight yesterday! Twice!

I know. I know. Some of my marathon friends are like, "So what?" but for a girl who's not a runner, and who struggled with running for a minute even, this is big. 

TOJ (The other Jenn) and I finally decided to move forward in the Couch to 5K. We're now on week 4. I won't even discuss how long it took us to get here, the important part is we're here.  The jump from week 3 to week 4 is significant in the amount of jogging time.  The max jogged in one straight time was 3 minutes, then we jumped to 5. I was completely convinced I couldn't do it. But TOJ kept telling me (aka distracting me) stories and before I knew it Ursula (that's what I call the voice on the app) said it was time to walk. 

To say I was stunned would be putting it mildly. My legs burned, and my breathing was normal. All in all, it was a good jog.  Cold. But a good jog.

I'm starting to think I might actually be a jogger yet. I've had my doubts.

Friday, January 11, 2013

Resolution Run



Happy Friday everyone!  This week went by in a blink of an eye and boy am I glad. Work was crazy this week...crazy in a good way.  I got a lot accomplished and discovered I am a data geek underneath all this project managers clothing. Who knew?

You may recall that one of my goals this year is to become a jogger/runner. And part of that goal was to run a 5K every month with the plan to actual RUN the entire 5K for the Race for the Cure.  The Couch to 5K program has been stalled, then progressed, then stalled, then progressed, then stalled and we're about to progress again. Well, last Sunday was my first 5K. I was ready. I was pumped. And then I got sick.

 

The Redmond Resolution run was a small, easy little 5K jog.  Well for some. TOJ (the other Jenn) and I still did it. Though admittedly I didn't jog as much as I had hoped. I couldn't breath very easily and didn't really want to push it. But we did it and we finished.  We did the first half by using the Couch to 5K program, then planned on jogging two minutes on, two minutes off.  Suffice it to say we barely made the program, let alone jogging the additional. My deal, however, was I would jog to and over the finish line. And we did.



The route took us South onto the Sammamish trail and back to the Redmond Athletic Club where they had an exercise challenge - we chose to skip that. Then the route took us North onto the Samamish trail again. This time part of the route was what they called the Concrete Coffin. Basically a four story parking garage where you run up the stairs to the 4th floor, ac
ross the top floor, down the stairs, up the ramps to the 4th floor then down the ramps and out. TOJ did it, I chose to not given my lack of breathing capacity.


We finished with style though and the weather held out for us. It only started to sprinkly slightly when we crossed the finish line. 


When I got up in the morning I was hoping TOJ would have a headache or a reason to not do it. I just wasn't looking forward to it. But in the end I'm so glad I did it.  I felt ok after - I'm sure the Starbucks helped.


Friday, January 04, 2013

Ringing in the New Year

New Year’s to me is a fun and exciting holiday to celebrate. It’s a clean slate. It’s a do over. It’s a time to reflect. It’s a time to make changes. It’s a time to be very, VERY thankful for all that you have.  The frosting on the cake. 

2012 was an year to be remembered. Some good memories, some bad. Though I think life would be boring if we only had good, so I welcome the bad. 2012 was an emotionally difficult year that drained me more than I care to admit.  Yet it also gave me new strength, new hope, and let me see a brighter future. 

2013 is hear. Fresh, new, unaltered, un-jaded, ready for me to live it … fully. Each new year I feel renewed. I feel like I am ready to take on the next level of goals, to think I can, and will, do better in all aspects of my life. I can’t afford to not improve – seems silly to not improve. 

I rang in 2013 much like I have in the past, with friends, food, and good cheer. I’m excited to see this year start. And I’m painfully aware that there will be some downers in this next year – as I get older they seem more likely to happen. But I’m also quite aware, that I make my own happiness. And in knowing that, I can, and will, make 2013 a happy year (sadness and all).  When I think about what some folks across the country are dealing with (unemployment, Connecticut shooting, natural disasters, etc) I’m reminded at how incredibly fortunate I am. Sure there’s sadness in my life, but I choose to make that sadness the exception not the rule.  2013 will be no different. 

Monday, December 31, 2012

ALOOOOOOHA!

Between Aloha and Mahalo that's the extent of my Hawaiian vocabulary. 

Though I'm sure they say "fun" the same way we do. And fun is what my birthday part this year was full of.

I decided, on a whim, to have a Hawaiian theme. I throw myself a party every year and it turns out that I kind of like coming up with themes.  So Hawaiian it was.

Side note: I throw myself a part for a couple of reasons. One, I've had some pretty crappy birthdays when people/boyfriends have forgotten to put something together - even when I express how important birthdays are for me. And two, I'm a control freak.

Right, back to Hawaiian.

The weather didn't cooperate to give us the glorious 70 degree weather that I'm sure the Hawaiian islands have this time of year, but sunny and 40 we'll take.

I managed to find plenty of Hawaiian themed decorations, as well as borrow some from friends, that made the house feel like you were walking into a tropical paradise.

Okay not really, but I had some really fun decorations.  Including little umbrellas for the Mai Tai's I made.

Oh Mai Tai's how I love and hate you all at the same time. I didn't feel like I had too many, but since I can't actually remember how many I had, perhaps I did have "too many". But can you ever really have "too many" mai tai's? I think not.

This is the Mai Tai recipe I "followed". I didn't use spiced rum, I used a dark rum. Then we ran out of that I used Bicardi. What? You can mix alcohols as long as they're in the same family.

Moving along.

The BEST part of the birthday party, by far, was Puck.  Blueberry got a hold of him in the circus, (according to Blueberry's story Barnum and Baily Circus is now where Puck resides) and asked him to come for one more visit.  He sent an impostor.

P-Dot was in love.  She'd never seen such a strong, happy, large, pink duck before.  She thought he was the cat's meow.

Puck the Cake! Blueberry really pulled out all stops this year and totally raised the "birthday" bar. Now I have to get creative for her birthday in April.

Puck the Cake was a total surprise, and one that I will forever remember!  Its rare that Blueberry can surprise me and when she does....she doesn't hold back.

Puck The Cake was one of the BEST cakes I've ever had. I'm not a huge cake fan, but the cake...OMG...to die for. It was chocolate, of course - I mean why bother if it's not chocolate - and then it had a chocolate ganache layer - or two - and a Salted Caramel layer - OMG...so good.

Blueberry decapitated Puck the Cake. Apparently his head is made of rice krispie treats. I plan on checking that out tonight at NYE.  The cake was supposed to feed 15 people and brother let me tell you, we could have fed the town of Redmond.  SOOO much cake left. We'll have it again tonight, and the rest will come to work with me on Wednesday - as if there's going to be any left.

On top of the fabulous cake, one of my friends, the Yank, brought his ukulele and led the group in a very Hawaiian singing of happy birthday. I can say in all my years, I've never had a ukulele playing at a birthday party. (Thanks Yank. That was quite thoughtful of you...and clever.)

Ignore that this is a bad photo. My friend Mr. Not so Newlywed had my camera and all he kept saying all night is "I'm using up all your film."

Here are few of the usual suspects who helped me celebrate.  Some photos turned out so bad that, to save my friendships, I won't be posting them.

Of course The Pantry Goat and Blueberry were there to help me celebrate.

Mr. and Mrs. Not so Newlywed were there. PS - check out that rockin Flamingo in the background. Thanks ChickenLady for the Flamingo. It fit the decor perfectly.

PhotoGirl and the Yank - two of my favorite people. Thanks for the bottle of Bader Cellars wine, BTW.

ZOEY!  She belongs to Mr. and Mrs. Hot-lanta (They're from Atlanta so I just made up their nickname. Clever huh?) Zoey is the BEST little girl in the world.  She has the habit of making sad, woe is me faces that get her all shades of attention.
 

And last but not least, the gang.
Left to Right - Front row: Blueberry and me (I'm the one in the grass skirt in case you couldn't tell.)
LTR Back row: Mr&Mrs Not So Newlywed, Mr&Mrs HotLanta, Mr&Mrs Landlords, PhotoGirl, The Yank, his ukulele, Pantry Goat and Zoey (who really didn't want to be in the photo).
 
So until next year - which is tomorrow - I say Aloha. Which turns out means hello and goodbye in Hawaiian.

Monday, December 24, 2012

Christmas Eve Tradition comes to an end

I've spent the last hour searching for a photo of Dad and me leaving for our Christmas Eve Tradition.  I can't find the photo and it's breaking my heart.

Sometime ago I swung by Mom and Dad's house on Christmas eve.  Dad cornered me and said he hadn't shopped for mom yet and would I go shopping with him. A little pissed at him I agreed.

We left and mom made out like a bandit.

Thus started the tradition.

Over the years the tradition evolved to it being planned and Dad and I would go to lunch. A little father/daughter time. 

It evolved again to where Dad would buy me a gift. Something HE bought just for me. Not something mom bought and put his name on it.  Each year I thought long and hard about what this gift would be. I tried, every year, to make it something dad would know something about. That was the hard part.

The early years I was simple. A bottle of my favorite perfume. A sweater. Easy stuff.

Then as I got older it became more challenging.  Coming up with something from Dad was not an easy task.  One year I got hiking boots. Another year I got knives. And yet another year I got a food processor.

But see the thing is, it was never about the gifts.  I would often tell Dad I didn't need anything and he'd pester me until I came up with something. 

It was about spending time with Dad. And he spending time with me.  I knew he looked forward to it, and so did I. 

Today I won't be shopping with Dad. Wow! That hurts to type.  I knew today would be difficult and have tried to put things out of my mind, but the truth is, I want to remember. I want to think about all the crazy adventures he took me on in search of the perfect gift for mom.

We spent hours one year driving to the other side of Tucson looking for lounge chairs he wanted for the back deck so mom could lay on them and read.  We drove and drove and drove.  Getting to the store he saw them at (cuz God forbid they be at any other store) and turned out the store was closed on Christmas Eve.  So we did what any normal family would do. We drove to a TRUCK car wash and had lunch at a greasy spoon diner.

Cranky at the time, but I'm thrilled now we did it. Because I can not only feel the sadness of the loss but smile at the crazy side of Dad determined to find what he "remembered" from months ago.

I'll miss Dad more today and likely tomorrow.  But I can feel some sort of comfort in knowing that he loved those days we spent together as much as I did.

And since I can't find the photo of dad and I leaving for our day, I'll leave you with one from the 80's (can you tell?).

Friday, December 21, 2012

Goals

Wow. I hadn't realized, again, that so much time has passed since my last post. I will vow to do better in the new year.

Can you believe it's almost the new year? I'm glad the world didn't end today (at least not yet) and that we get to see what the new year is all about.  I'm sure, like many of you, hope it'll be a better year.  This year had some major suckage going on in it.

Every year I come up with goals. No so much resolutions, as just goals. Resolutions, to me, seem a bit too brutal and it seems people are more willing to break resolutions.  So I stick with goals. 

Last year's goals I haven't checked in on lately, so let's do it today shall we?

1. Scrapbooking!
I wanted to get caught up last year, and I mostly did. But two big trips towards the end of the year coupled with a few other road trips throughout the year sidelined me for a bit. I'm now majorly behind. But I did at least keep mostly up on my annual pages I do.

I also wanted to stop buying so much scrapbooking stuff.  And I can say with pure conviction that I did not really follow through on this goal. I blame my enabler.

2. Photography!
I wanted to do Project365 again last year, and well, it just didn't happen.  I think I may have slightly burned out from doing it in 2010.  I did get out a couple of times last year with the PhotoGods, but not nearly as much as I'd like.

In addition to taking photos, I wanted to learn PhotoShop Elements a bit more. And I can say that I am way more familiar with that product. Though there are still several parts of it that still elude me.

3. Finances!
Last year my focus was saving. And while I didn't get started on it right away, I did get my 401K going and have been able to significantly contribute to that. Other savings I've not done so well at. I'm still trying to get 3 months of salary saved. Turns out, that's a lot harder than it sounds. With the Fiscal Cliff looming, perhaps I should work on this in earnest this year.

4. Health!
Healthy was the way of life for me last year. This was my major goal and focus.  I managed to lose 30lbs (not the 50 I was aiming for) and keep it off while not actively losing.  It was much more difficult to lose weight than I thought it would be. But alas, I found myself feeling better and doing things without getting exhausted as quickly. For that, I am thrilled this goal lasted.

5. Write more!
This one was a miserable failure. Especially if you look at the first sentence is just about every blog post this year. Sheesh.  I do love to write, and whether you think I'm good at it or not, I really don't care.  I am going to try to focus my blog more this coming year and really put some heart into some blog posts. I have a HUGE list (thanks to NaBloPoMo) and I'm going to make a significant effort.

I can't say I'll make any more of an effort to be grammatically correct or spell any better. You'll just have to deal with it.

So 2012 had 5 goals.  You won't be too surprised to hear that 2013 goals are very similar to those goals.  But with added verve (is that a word?)

Courtesy of the Internet.
2013 GOALS!

1. Read more.
I did have a goal of last year, and just about every year, to try to read 50 books in a year. That's tough.  I am sitting at 43 right now and will most likely get 44 done this year.  I'm going to aim for 45 next year.  And I'd like at least 30% of those to be not so fluffy books.

2. Scrapbooking
Oh the old scrapbooking goal.  My major effort this year is to control my scrapbooking purchases. I know. I know. I've said it before. But I have a plan. Over the next several days as we wind down this year, I'm going to be staging my pages. (Seattle SIL has an all day scrap planned in January so it's twice as useful) and once all the photos are staged, I'm going to see what's left.  At that point, I'm going to make some decisions about what to keep and what not to keep. Me thinks I have a ton of paper, in particular, that seemed like a good idea at the time, but really isn't.

My ultimate goal (stop laughing) is to not really have ANY paper on hand and just purchase paper WHEN I have the photos. No "just because it's pretty" purchases. That's what's gotten me in this situation.

I will however, reserve the right to purchase items that are "needed" to enhance any pages.

3. Photography.
This year I'm doing Project365 again.  I think I'm ready to give it another go.  I've got a list of themes, and two partners in crime (Joan and Packing Laurie) who are going to give it a go with me.

In addition, I've purchased a system from Becky Higgins called Project Life. It's a much easier way to scrapbook your life. And since 99% of the photos I take during Projenct365 is about what I'm doing or what I'm eating, I figured it's a perfect combination.

I'd like to get out and do some real shooting at least 6 times this year with the PhotoGods (all of them or any combination of them).

4. Finances
Someday I'd love to not have this as a goal, but alas here we are.

The big one is to get the credit cards paid off again. They aren't significant, but a cruise and then San Diego added too much to those darn things. This won't take but a couple of months. 

After that, it's all hands on deck to get that 3 months worth of salary saved!

And of course, continue with the 401K stuff.

5. Health
Learning from last year, I'm going to set my goal to lose between 30 and 40 lbs.  I know at least 30 is doable.  So let's see if we can push it.

In addition, I'm continuing the Couch to 5K efforts. My goal next year is to wog (jog/walk - Thanks Julie for this) one 5K each month. The Boss and I are already signed up to do the Resolution 5K in Redmond on the 5th of January.  I'm going to be making my list here shortly for the rest of the year.

The ultimate goal is to actually jog the Race for the Cure in June this year.

6. Blog More.
This goes without saying.

So there you go. My 2013 goals.  I figured since the world didn't end today I might as well come up with my goals.

Thursday, December 13, 2012

San Diego 3Day...finally

Howdy there neighbor. It’s me. The long lost blogger…sheesh I can’t believe how long it’s been and frankly I couldn’t even tell you what’s been going on. So let’s start with something I know I haven’t blogged about…the San Diego 3Day.
 
The first impression I had of the San Diego 3day was, unfortunately, shock.  They call this 3Day the “Boob Crawl” and for very good reason. The amount of alcohol up and down the route was astounding.  One of our team members said that in one day (or maybe before lunch one day) she counted 48 places along the route that were handing out alcohol of some sort. Right out of the camp on day two the walkers are greeted with mimosas or bloody marys. Then throughout the route they get jell-o shots, shots of tequila, lemonade with vodka, vodka soaked gummy bears and more.  
 
I was a bit bummed about this part of it.  It seemed to really be counter to what the 3day message was all about.  And the number of walkers that we saw “stumble” into camp each night was higher than I think it should be. 
 
Still, the 3day Walker Stalker part was a blast.  Stalking in a different city is very different. Not knowing the roads threw us a few challenges and caused us to break a few traffic laws. But laws don’t count on the 3Day.
 
 
 
Opening was a bit outside San Diego, not far, (nothing seems to be far there) and was the standard 3Day rah-rah opening. I'm not a huge fan of the new way they are doing the Survivor Circle these days. They used to showcase 8 Survivors in a raised platform in the center of all the walkers. When the Survivors walk in and climb the stairs to the platform it's pretty powerful stuff. Now they have the Survivors up on stage and it's just not as powerful. 
 
 
 

 
I didn't get a Mustang from the car rental place. Got a crappy Eclipse, but it was still a convertible.  Blueberry and I decorated it and we were off.
 
 

 
The walkers walked primarily along the water, which made it extra hard to stalk them. So many beach houses that we couldn't every really see the walkers. So we found places to park and cheer.

The MomUnit and QueenPopUp were also on the route with us occasionally.  They slept in and joined us later in the morning usually. It worked out well - up until they asked where we were.  I had no idea half the time. 

 

Here are some of my favorite 3Day people we saw on the route.

The Hooker Mobile followed us everywhere I swear. They had a minivan and were blasting the tunes.  Then they'd hop out and start dancing for the walkers. They were awesome.

Jello-o shots anyone?


 
This gal was hilarious.  She was dancing like a crazy person then kept saying things like her back hurt...gee I wonder why.
And lastly, here are some of our team. We picked up two new team members along the way. Seattle SIL had a tent mate she hadn't met until the 3Day (her name was also Jennifer so we knew she'd be way cool) and then a gal they picked up during Opening (I believe her name was Tammy).

Here they come!

Princess Lori, me, Seattle SIL and Blueberry


Seattle SIL at closing. Think she was glad it's over?

Left to Right: Tammy, Queen PopUp (kneeling), Princess Lori, Seattle SIL, Jennifer (kneeling), Princess Carla, Blueberry, me and the MomUnit.



Monday, December 03, 2012

San Diego Wild Safari Park...or whatever it's called

I'm just finishing up blogging about my San Diego trip that now seems like a lifetime ago. 

On the last day of actual vacation time (we really went to San Diego so Seattle SIL, and other princesses could walk in the San Diego 3 day - I'll get to that shortly) we went out to Ramona.  Why Ramona? Good question. Other than it was yet another Diner, Drive-Ins and Dives cafe out there we wanted to try. And oh boy am I glad we did.

Not only did we have a massive cinnamon roll, but we had a fantastic breakfast.






 
 
After gorging ourselves on unhealthy items, we hopped back in the van and headed the short distance to the Safari park.

I have vague memories of going to the park a hundred years ago with Grandma and Grandpa Wraspir. I remembered the tram and seeing animals in their natural (ish) environment, but really didn't remember much more than that.

The Safari Park has really done a great job, I think, at maintaining a lot of room for the animals to roam free. Most do. Some are still pinned up, but their pins seem quite large and comfy.



I LOVED the lions.  They were sleeping, of course, except Mr. King Lion glanced my way. And I swear he was thinking I'd make a good hearty lunch.

 

We saw gorillas and a baby gorilla - so dang cute.



We saw Cheetas.

 
We saw Flamingos!!!
 

We saw giraffes.
 

 
We saw rhinos!
 
 

We saw zebras!
 

We saw elephants, and an elephant baby. Though in typical elephant / Jenn fashion, all I really got were photos of elephant asses.



But my favorite of all were the tigers! 


One tiger was just hanging out resting, minding his own business. (Note, not sure if it was a boy or girl tiger, so we'll just call it a him for simplicity).


Brother Tiger decided to come out and see what was going on.


He started stalking the other tiger who was minding his own business.


And eventually bothering brother tiger..


The brother tiger was all, "I was sleeping here!"


And then he was all, "And now I'm gonna kick your ass."




It was all so exciting to see big cats actually moving and not just sleeping.

The park was awesome. I loved seeing all the animals and seeing them thrive in a zoo environment. I'll leave you with a couple of my favorites.