DOH, no card. Where's the card? Why would the card not be in the camera? Oh yah, it's in the Pink Laptop.
Thursday, March 27, 2008
Hello Old Friend
DOH, no card. Where's the card? Why would the card not be in the camera? Oh yah, it's in the Pink Laptop.
Tuesday, March 25, 2008
Thanks for Stopping by...now leave!
What? I can't explain dreams.
I can, however, control them. Way...Back...When...in college I took part in a dream study. It was $100 for a three month study. $100 was a lot to a beer depraved college student. I, of course, immediately too the money and
I have a very personal, close relationship with my dreams and generally remember them. I even think I dream in color, but that can be argued. Anyhow, after several months I was able to control what happened in a dream. If I didn't like the dark shadowy path I was wondering down, I'd tell myself to take a left and it'd be all sunshine and bunnies.
Lately I've been watching The War by Ken Burns. I'm not a huge WWII fan, but I am a European history fan. And while I realize, thanks for pointing it out, that this film is the US side of the house, there's a lot of history to be seen/heard about in this film. I just finished disc 3 last night. I did 5 hours of disc 1 and 2 on Sunday night. Consequently I'm dreaming about WWII. I'm not actually in the war, but rather a by stander floating above it watching it.
Last night I was yelling at some soldier to not go in a building. I can remember consciously thinking he'll die if he goes in. But if I dream of something else, he won't. So I switched gears. I didn't think about the XXXCrush, it just happened. I just wanted to dream about anything else, but this poor kid potentially dying.
Anyhow, if you've not seen this film and you're a fan of history, I highly recommend it. It really is quite well done and WOW the things I'm learning.
Sunday, March 23, 2008
Thanks Easter Bunny! Brahck! Brahck!
Then Saturday, we had no "team" walk planned so I figured I could go out on my own. The sun was shining, and the route BigBro and I took Friday could be altered to stop at a Starbuck's. So off I went. Before I went though, I decided to try those 5 hour Energy shot thingys. After gagging it down, berry flavored my butt, I sat and patiently waited for it to kick in. I knew that 10 miles would take me 4 hours give or take, so I took it about 30 minutes before I planned on walking. Within minutes I was hopping up cleaning stuff, and feeling very energized. Strapping on the shoes, I was off. Shin splints be damned, I couldn't stop. I felt so much energy it was quite frightening and I couldn't help but wonder if that was what being on crack was like. I managed 10 miles with a 15 minute stop at a Starbucks to rest and do other things. I didn't end up getting ANY coffee because I didn't think my heart could stand it. Thursday, March 20, 2008
WooF!
Wednesday, March 19, 2008
I try to discover, A little something to make me sweeter
Case in point, the title of this blog. I was recounting a story - which I'll recount shortly - to a friend via email, and for some reason this song popped in my head. The video should come with a warning: "Serious 80's Ahead - Proceed with caution."
As if you need yet another example, or look into my mind, yesterday PMDude said I was a dreamer. So what song popped in my head? This one. What? Didn't you think of that? The best part, it got stuck in his head.
Right. The story.
So a couple of weeks ago when BigBro took us on the 9+ mile walk through the streets of Seattle, I craved a Dairy Queen blizzard later that evening. And by "crave" I mean, I could NOT get the thought out of my head. It's nagged at me and nagged at me like a little door knocker being overused in my head.
I did, of course, what any person training for a 60 mile walk would do. I hopped in the car, reset the mile clocker thingy-ma-bob, and hit the road. 1.5 miles later I was at Dairy Queen. Waiting not so patiently in the freakin line for my blizzard. Actually, I should state the line wasn't long, but all the rejects from the DQ world are sent to this particular store to "take their time" making ice cream joy. Anyhow, on the way home I thought, "Wow, just 3 miles to DQ. I could walk there. Get my blizzard. And walk back with little to no guilt."
Speaking of guilt, this song popped in my head. It's a curse. I know.
Sunday, March 16, 2008
What is...116 and 13 years of goodness?
116 is the total number of training miles I've clocked since January. BigBro and I walked somewhere in the neighborhood of 10 miles. There's some difference between his pedometer and mine, so I'm guessing on this. I was tired and I could feel the walk in the back of my right knee. But significant stretching, lots of water and a little nap, I was good to go.
Then as if that wasn't enough, I got up - not early by any stretch of the imagination, which I'll get into in a bit, and I walked 5 more miles today.
Its amazing to me to think that I walked 10 miles. In December of last year if you would have asked me that, I never would have imagined myself getting out and pounding the pavement. The funny thing now is, walking a mile, or two, or three just seems silly. Simply no effort really, and doesn't really tire me out. At 6 miles, I can start to feel it. I definitely need to consider stretching some more during the walk. Somewhere between 6 and 9 miles I think I need a little break. I was hurting by the time we hit BigBro's house yesterday, which I'll blame on a lack of water and stretching. But if I were to stop and rest for 5 minutes I think I would have felt good.
After a long, hot shower, a quick little nap, I dressed myself to go celebrate 13 years of Dudley Manlove goodness. They combined St. Patty's dat with their celebration, and not once last night did they mention their anniversary. No big I guess. I've been going to their shows for 10 years now. Which is hard to believe, but it's true. It's been fun watching them change their songs up and add a few opening acts here and there.
Their "opening act" last night was, well, not all that. In fact, I had to video tape them because no one would believe me if I told them it was an Irish Folk band. Now for the theme of St. Patty's day, they fit. Dudley fans, they did not fit.
Aside from the opening act, VikingGirl and Mark/Vanessa joined. HikerGirl and her new man bailed on us. Hmph! VikingGirl was a Dudley virgin and had her reservations when she saw the Haggis Brothers. Her eyebrow shot up with a very questioning tone in it. But by the end of the night, she was officially a Dudley Fan. My work here is done.
Dudley went into the old Dudley coffers and pulled out some of their very old songs that they've done for years. Songs like, What's New Pussy cat?(Tom Jones), Me and Mrs Jones (not my favorite song, but I love Paul's voice when he sings it. Incidentally, Mr. Michael Buble does a pretty damn good job too.), If Could Read My Mind (Gordon Lightfoot) - Dudley speeds this one up quite a bit too, and even Joey Scarbough's Greatest American Hero theme. (Shut up! You know you know the words to that song.)
December 1963 is one of my FAVORITE songs. Yes, it's a Franki Valli song, but it's fun and really quite nasty if you understand the lyrics.
The crowd exploded when Dudley did this song. With the flashy lights and the sounds of people talking, it totally reminded me of prom. If you listen closely, you can hear the entire crowd singing along. ( And the distortion in the sound would me and my dumbness. I discovered the microphone on my camera is right where I put my finger to hold the camera. So it sorta covered it part of the time. Sorry. I'll do better next time.) And you can't see it very well in the video, but Paul was holding up a lighter...ahhh memories. We did notice no one else in the crowd really had lighters, but we all had cell phones.
And finally, they closed their show with their standard closer, Suspicious Minds. We were up on a balcony watching the show this time - actually thankful we weren't down front - so from up above, I thought it was fun to watch the entire crowd bounce at the same time.
Friday, March 14, 2008
And my destination makes it worth the while; Pushing through the darkness still another mile
BigBro and I are "planning" on 9-10 miles tomorrow. It's dependent on the weather. Sounds funny maybe, but I have no desire to walk 10 miles (3 hours) in pouring rain. I bought some mole skin today to put on the blister point on the bottom of my foot. One would think that one's foot would be calloused enough now by one's commitment to walking. But NoooOOOoooo! This is not my foot for the record, but this is what it'll look like tomorrow. Thursday, March 13, 2008
Um....WTF?
I'm not even sure how to comment on it. I'm, (how do you say?), speechless.
Wednesday, March 12, 2008
That would be Miss Ambassador to you!
No need to courtesy. No need to bow. I'll still be the same old Jenn. Just an ambassador. I'll be signing autographs later.Earlier this week I was contacted by what appears to be the PR firm for the 3Day. Through web searches they found my blog and read all the wonderful and motivational things I've written about the 3day and my journey. From there they thought I'd be an excellent ambassador for the 3day. They were looking for walkers who would be willing to share their story with the media. Newspapers, TV, radio apparently look to interview participants about the event, and I quote, "bringing it to life these Ambassadors are our best resource." I filled out their form, and waited patiently for an "approval". I wasn't sure if I was applying for it and it had to be reviewed, or if it was a sure thing. I chose to not write about it at the time for fear of jinxing it. And yes, I am that powerful.
So today, I got an email back from them welcoming me as an ambassador. I'm royal. I think.
Anyhow, it's quite a nifty little set up they have. They have online tools that help with getting media coverage, and tips for interviewing etc. As I was reviewing their stuff I thought, hah, this is just the thing to do for when the Saving 2nd Base team decides to do a fundraising event. We can call the media. Get the coverage for the 3day and maybe get more donations to find a cure. Everyone loves a good human interest story. I'd like to be sure we can give them a happy ending too and eradicate breast cancer (or all cancer for that matter).
The best part of the email from this PR rep was as follows: "I suspect you won’t be shy about sharing your story since you’re so open about it on your blog." Who me?
Now if you'll excuse me, my public awaits. Well, okay a project schedule awaits, but it's close!
Tuesday, March 11, 2008
I’ve been waiting, ever so patiently, for my first 3day story that I can carry with me for motivation. As if having a best friend who’s suffered through breast cancer wasn’t enough motivation. Or as if all the millions of women who have suffered, or will suffer isn’t enough. No, now I have even MORE motivation.
Her name: Unknown. Her spirit, remarkable, as is just about everyone I’ve met who’s had to deal with this.
Yesterday, I got home and decided to get my butt out there and walk. I mapped out a 5mile trek that would take me through a good part of the hood and get me back in time to head over to the Newlywed’s house for dinner (and planning of Blueberry’s 40th birthday party). Off I went. About 3.5 miles into it, the allergy attack from hell kicked in.
Sidebar: Allergies. Hate them. Last season I didn’t have a single sneeze, sniffle, or difficulty breathing. This season, it’s making itself up ten-fold. My goodness it sucks.
Now, back to the show.
Right, allergy attack. I sneezed SEVENTEEN times in a row. No lie. And anyone who’s lived with me know’s this happens during spring. It’s a ton of fun. By sneeze 10-ish, it hurts. Really really hurts. My eyes started watering and started to itch. I literally wanted to pull my eye balls out and scratch them. Ugh. This whole time, me with two kleenexs, couldn’t walk fast enough.
Then the clouds opened up. I’m a mile or so from the car. Rain pouring down, sneezing, and feeling like crap. Questioning why the hell I was doing this? Telling myself how stupid it was to have ever thought this was a good idea. And as soon as I get back to the car I’m calling the whole thing off, well, after I stop at Starbucks for some warm cuppa love.
Now, picture, if you will, that I’m a vision in pink. I have on my new pink – albeit soaking wet – fleece breast cancer vest and pink shoe laces in my spiffy new sneakers. Out of the corner of my eye I see two women sitting at a table near the door. I don’t really pay much attention to them as there are people in Starbucks usually sitting chatting.As I’m standing waiting for the warm Americano to be served up, I feel a tap on my shoulder. There standing beside me is one of the women from the table. She has a pink baseball cap on covering her clearly balled head. She looks to be somewhere in her 30’s though it’s hard to tell. She says to me, “Are you a survivor?” I responded that no, I was training for the 3day/60 mile Breast Cancer walk. The smile that took over her face can be compared to nothing I’ve ever seen. She asked if she could give me a hug. As she did she said, “Thank you, I appreciate your effort.” Even typing this now my eyes get all misty.
I grabbed my Americano – doctored it up with cream and sugar – walked out to my car and just sat there. As I sat there I thought about how incredibly crappy and cranky I was when I went in. All things in perspective now I realized I didn’t really have anything to complain about by comparison. But I did have yet another reason to continue to train and fight to find a cure.
As for how I'm doing with regards to this adventure. I'm over my $1000 mark in fundraising - just $4000 left to go. And I'm just a measly 6 miles away from my first 100 training miles.
Sunday, March 09, 2008
Ow Ow Ow Ow....Ahhhhhh
us. This shop is a small mom and pop shop who's sales people don't work on commission. Blueberry bought her shoes there and I immediately felt that they would do us no wrong. So John the salesman spent an hour with myself and VikingGirl. I tried on 5 different pairs, wearing one shoe on the left foot and another on the right. Walking up the hill outside the store, switching the shoes, walking some more. Oddly the first pair I tried on was the pair I bought. Jock&Jill's gives a 10% discount because we are walking in the 3 Day. In two week's they'll be having an expo and they'll be selling things at 20% off. I plan on going back and buying another pair of shoes to have them ready for walking. I mean 20% off, you gotta take advantage of that. You just gotta!
What was truly amazing about these new tennyrunners I bought is how much my foot hurt going into trying on shoes, and how little it hurt walking to my car. Going in I didn't think I'd be able to walk to the car and thought I might have to break down and let Blueberry go get the Stang (gulp). But once these new kickass shoes were on, my foot didn't hurt. In fact, I felt I could walk another lap of Greenlake. Friday, March 07, 2008
It's a VERY Good day
I got to work and was very cranky. I had festered all night over a conversation that took place during my 1:1. Then when I got up this morning I was still mad. I had a conversation out loud with things I wanted to say, but wasn't quick enough to say them. I hate that.
But today, while it started out with me wearing my crankypants, got better. Approximately 2:00PM today, PMDude and I got notified that we were approved to move into an office. YIPEE! We - PMDude more than I - had been asking for some time to allow he and I to co-exist in an office away from "others" in the office. Today, we moved. I will take a snapshot later of the office digs once they get situated. We both pretty much just moved and then went home. Well, that's not completely true. My desk is all put together, but I stayed later to do that.
I got another surprise today. I was "found" in Facebook by a long lost friend from my Tasis days. Little Martini Pearce. Martin, Claudia and I pal'ed around a lot. He was a lot of fun back then, and I'm sure he still is. He lives in LA with his partner and currently raising a their special needs child. I'm so happy for him. And I'm so very glad that he found me. His sister Rachel and I were roommates my senior year. After graduation, Rachel fell off the radar and hasn't wanted to be found. Martin informs me she's good and doing well.
Tomorrow we are all meeting to walk 9-10 miles. I'm hoping to buy some new fancypants shoes. The ones I have now are 10 mile AT THE MOST shoes. My feet started hurting after 9. Not to mention a blister. For myself I bought a gift. This nifty little foot massager. It was delivered on Tuesday and I've not had a chance to pick it up from the office. Hopefully tomorrow I'll 1) be able to pick it up and 2) use it in the afternoon after the walk.Blueberry is about to turn 40. The Bride of the Newlyweds and I are going to be planning a bday party for her. I haven't had to plan a birthday party this big in a long long time. At least there's no need to determine a color scheme. Black I think should do just fine.
Thursday, March 06, 2008
Make it Stop
Tuesday, March 04, 2008
Back in the Saddle
A BIG HUGE SHOUT OUT TO AUNT JEAN FOR HER DONATION. I know the decision of either buy "scrapbook" stuff or donate to a good cause. I'm very glad that she chose to donate. Sunday, March 02, 2008
I Wear My Sunglasses....
I was going to post yesterday but got too busy sitting in the sun. Then I came back in side to rest, cause it was a lot of work sitting outside in the sun. Once inside, I sat on the couch to type, but the glare from outside on the computer just wouldn't allow typing. So I went back outside.
Sitting on the deck, I was laying back soaking up the sun when a loud flutter sounding like a bee with wings of an eagle jolted me back to reality and just about scared the poo out of me, thinking it was a bee. Instead it was a nice little humming bird. Still, it could have been a bee with wings of an eagle.
Yesterday was the big family reunion. I've not known the Spaid side - the MomUnit's side) very well and sorta regret that. What a bunch of amazingly odd people. I know where I get it from now. I sat at the table last night with two uncles, and an aunt who all told stories on one another. I laughed until my sides hurt. Funny how one story told by three different perspectives can be so different.
From Left to right: Uncle Dick, Aunt Jean, the MomUnit and Uncle Bob.
Aunt Jean is one of my favoritest aunts. She's the one responsible for my scrapbooking addiction. I told her I'd send her my bill and she said she can't be responsible for such a large tab. She lives in Medford Oregon, so I could see her more than just once every 15 years. Uncle Dick now lives just below my parents during the winter. As long as I can remember he's been in Alaska. It's too cold for me to visit up there. Uncle Bob lives in Colorado and has for as long as I can remember. I vaguely recall as a child visiting them, but can't recall if it was in Colorado or if they visited us in California.
It saddens me a bit that we didn't get a chance to grow up with this family. Being part of the military we moved a lot and so rarely got to see family. We generally spent summers in California with the grandparents and so at least knew them.
I've been shocked at some of the trials and tribulations these aunts and uncles lived through. I've learned a lot about our family history, and am writing it down so it's captured somewhere. It surprises me that they are "normal" as they are. And that's all relative.
I walked just 3 miles yesterday because it was so flipping hot. And I found myself out of breath quicker. BigBro did warn me about the higher altitude, but that doesn't seem like I should have been that much out of breath. Still, it was nice to get out and walk.
Today we're having brunch with the whole fam damily and who knows after that. I might sit out in the sun again, oh who am I kidding, there's no might about it. I'm soaking up as much as I can. It'll be cooler today at 79. Yesterday it was 86 and that is a bit toasty.
Oh and on the plane on the way down here I actually sat in a window seat. I normally like the aisle so I can get up as much as I like. Every screaming child in Seattle was on this plane and I swear sitting next to me. Anyhow, we flew over the Grand Canyon. Gorgeous from the sky!
Thursday, February 28, 2008
Off to the land of OZ
My mom's family is having a reunion. I've not seen some of these family members for like 15 or 20 years. Crazy. It shocks me how quickly time passes. I was just saying to PMDude today that I don't even remember yesterday. It came and went before I could store it in my long term memory. Did I even do work? Never mind. Don't answer that.
I plan on doing some walking in the land of Oz. It'll be nice and warm, so there's no excuse. And BigBro was nice enough to provide me a map of a walk he did down there. So I really have no excuse.
While I was working out this afternoon I watched Judge Judy. I think I've mentioned before that this show cracks me up. It proves over and over that the gene pools out there need some chlorine. Anyhow, a sister from the south, and I mean the "south" was suing her sister for wrecking her car. The defendant sister's excuse was she hit a deer and so it wasn't her fault. Judge Judy asked her if she called animal control to come get the deer. The sister said no. Judge Judy asked what she did with the deer. The sister said she ate it. She ate it! Now practically I see the point, but good grief only in the south.
Tuesday, February 26, 2008
A little this! A little that!
The roommate (aka The Big Black Beast of Burden aka Pookie) has suddenly found that he "needs" to charge the sliding glass door every time this particularly cute grey cat comes around. Now it could be a female cat and there for he's "hungry" for her (though he's fixed and doubtful even knows what that is). Or it's a male kitty and he's protecting Chez Jenn's. Either way he needs to stop. I have cat face prints on the glass and his little kitty brain is being jolted out of place. And by "charge" I mean he's all the way across the apartment and runs at full speed to the glass, and only stops when his face hits the glass full on. The other issue is he does it in the middle of the night. Being startled awake by the sound of a 14 lb cat hitting a solid glass door through vertical blinds, is not my idea of fun. It must stop. I'm going to duct tape the cat to the ceiling to stop said issue.
Skippy was absent from work yesterday. What a glorious Monday. He had a "chest" thing and felt he couldn't make it into work. Now keep in mind, my work ethic, and PMDude's too, says that if I'm not dead, and am home sick, I still do "work". He was sadly at work today and didn't sound sick at all. He spent 3/4 of the day today whining about how he feels "okay" but is just so tired. He's so very tired. All day I wanted to say, "I'm so f****** tired of listing to you whine." But I didn't. I refrained, barely.
Am I the only one who hates the Oscars? I would like to request a shortened version please. Just show me the nominees, the winners and move on to the next category. I hate the thank you speeches. First off almost every single one thanks God and I can almost gaurantee that not a one of them have been to church in the last 5 years, nor have the likely prayed. But whatever. That's cynical girl speaking. I do love checking out the dresses the day after online. I'm always amused when the online world shows the "worst dressed" and there's a male actor listed and he's wearing a tux. A tux that looks no different than a tux worm by some other man.
A BIG HUGE SHOUT OUT TO PEGGY S for her donation. She's a friend of PMDude and someone I've never met. In fact, I've been shocked the amount of donations I've received by people I don't actually know. Friends through this blog world. These witty, clever, sarcastic, and funny friends I now am glad to have in my circle even if I've never met them.
The blisters are almost back to normal. I actually bothered them yesterday by walking a bit. Stupid Stupid girl! They hurt today and so consequently couldn't walk today. I lifted weights today instead while watch Judge Judy. What? As if you don't watch her.
Sunday, February 24, 2008
Walking, Whining, Wine, and Photography
Thursday, February 21, 2008
Let the Sickness Continue
Monday, February 18, 2008
Destination Tully's
Sunday, February 17, 2008
Destination Starbucks
I'm a Starbucks poster child. I order a very simple drink - Grande Vanilla Americano with extra room. I am guaranteed that any Starbucks I order my drink at, even the cheesy ones inside Safeway or QFC stores (not Starbuck employees usually, but store employees). Still, I get the same exact drink every time. I look forward to the consistency. I crave the consistency.
Thursday, February 14, 2008
Valentine's Update: DMQ style

There's a card. It's addressed to "Jenn" - why, that's me! Oh goody! I got a Valentine. A secret admirer perhaps? Perhaps its hotty boy who works down the hall who has quite the impressive back side, if you know what I mean? Oh, wait, perhaps it's from Dad for our "anniversary" that's Sunday? Or, maybe it's from ... or, I could open the card.
I carry the 14 lbs of fruit package back to my desk, imagining over and over again who could be the lucky person to have sent such a fantastically low calorie Valentine to me?
As I tear into the envelop I think, clearly it's someone who knows me because they spelled Jenn with two "N's". Wait! What? Who?

DMQ = Dudley Manlove Quartet! No way! This is Righteous! Or, is it perhaps from a certain friend/friends who happened to attend the Valentine's show with me and had such a fantastic time they felt like they HAD to reciprocate? Me thinks maybe yes. But either way...THANKS! You know who you are!
Now rereading my blog I glanced at the bouquet and I'm taken back to a Mariner's game in which they started selling chocolate dipped strawberries. Blueberry and I were watching as person after person walked by with these "things", when I blurted out, "they look like the top of a pe*is." (If you don't know what that word is, think male, think anatomy, think south of the border). After cleaning up Blueberry from spitting her drink halfway across Safeco Field, we laughed until our sides hurt. Now I find myself glancing at this bouquet and laughing at the thought of "I got a bouquet of pe*is tops." (Can't wait to see stat counter pick up this blog when someone searches on that).
Blech!
Monday, February 11, 2008
Coughing, Achy, Stuffy head, Fever sure wish I could rest
My weekend stunk to high heaven considering I didn't move from the couch. I felt a bit icky on Friday, but forced myself to go see Dudley (yes I forced myself...well maybe not). I knew I was coming down with something. I could feel it in my bones. You know that feeling when every noise sorta gets your nerves jumping. Where just lifting the glass to take a drink is painful. Yah that feeling.
The boys here hot hot hot at this show. The Valentine's show is likely me least favorite. First because it's Valentine's Day and we all know how I feel about day. But secondly most their songs are about love. Blech! We went to the early show, which thank God since I was getting sick. I never would have made it to the later show. We had a Dudley virgin amongst us. The Yank (PhotoGirl's hubby) hadn't had the privilege to see the boys. But I gathered he approved. I did take several videos (thanks to The Yank for figuring out how to use my new camera's video's ability), but none of them turned out well enough to earn a spot here. Others in attendance, Blueberry, The Newly Weds, HikerGirl and her new HikerBoy.
I did no walking this weekend. Blueberry and I planned a 7 mile walk, but I didn't feel like I could even manage a walk from my bed to the bathroom, so I knew 7 miles was out. I am feeling a bit anxious about not getting out this weekend. But I know I'd do myself no good if I were to go out while sick.
Does this blog seem more pink than others? It should. I'm writing it on my new Flamingo Pink laptop. See I ended up staying home today since I felt like crap. No reason to drag my butt into work and pass the gunk to any other poor unfortunate soul there. And as luck would have it, the Laptop was delivered. Yay! I didn't feel up to unpacking the box when it first got here, but then couldn't stand it. It's beautiful! It's pink!
Friday, February 08, 2008
Hairy ValenTimes

Wednesday, February 06, 2008
Treadmill: 1 Jenn: 0
pseudo bar - you see where this is going right? By the end of mile 1 I decided I needed a drink. I went to grab the water bottle and it slipped from my grasp. It landed with a resounding thud on the track of the treadmill. Now some would think I tripped on it, but in fact miraculously it shot - literally shot - off the treadmill like a bullet. Straight back in a direct line and landed - I kid you not - in the dispenser part of a coke machine. I got the giggles. I couldn't stop laughing. The ridiculousness of reliving that bullet like trajectory of a pink water bottle - even now I find myself tearing up with laughter. Monday, February 04, 2008
The Squeemish Need Not Apply
God.

Friday, February 01, 2008
30 Training Miles and Still going
Tonight, I passed a milestone. That sentence makes it sound like I passed a stone. If you know what i mean? And somehow I have the song 500 Miles in my head. Stop laughing PMDude!DRINK THE DAMN GATORADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I MEAN IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
There are a couple theories going into this …. Only one is sanctioned… I came up with the other.
*Don’t bother with the schedule. If you never do any working out, your body won’t know what hit it for at least a couple days and hopefully you’ll either be done with the walk or on day 3 and almost done before your body figures it out…
Good safety tip…
OH … and it’s probably a good idea to start eating only potato chips, bananas, peanut butter, bagels and Gatorade as your primary diet a week before you head out … so that your body doesn’t freak out and have horrendous diarrhea issues at about noon on day 2. BUT if this happens … I have found that a quick trip into a fast food location for like … “mexi fries” can easily get you back on track … carry some cash…
OK … so here are a couple heads up.
Day one:
*Piece of cake. OK … a 20 mile piece of cake. You’re probably too young to remember walkathons that were actually 20 miles and not … 20K…
*At the end of day one … you will sit down to dinner at a plate of food so large you think you can’t possibly eat it all. And in an instant… all the food will be gone. I actually asked my buddies … “where did all my food go?” … To which they said… “um … you ate it”.
*Day one when you get to camp … there will be crazy people who will… somehow … dance all night. Personally, it was all I could do to shower/shampoo/shine for the next day’s walk … I’m sure I stunk to the high heavens… oh wait I didn’t shower… I didn’t do any of that, because my tent and sleeping bag were like sirens… calling to me. Male sirens… ;+)
Day two:
*This is a horrible day. You have been warned.
*Your shoes will feel 3 sizes too small and if you have blisters it will be even worse. ;+)
*So it’s going to be the same length as day one … but it’s not new. And it’s the same length as day 3 … but your not done.
*This day will suck. If you have any Percocet … alcohol … bring it. I didn’t need it, but I knew I had it. And that made all the difference.
*Take a shower before you go to bed … no matter how much it might kill you. For … tomorrow, they will be taking pictures of you along the way and at the finish. Plus … it’s probably over due.
Day three:
*A lot like day 1 with … way more aches and pains … and probably blisters.
*BUT… there is an end in site.
*I found that when my group sang “I like big butts” it really made the time “fly”. (Learn the lyrics)
*And … I still have yet to feel the sense of accomplishment as I did when I finished this trek.
Good luck to you my friend. You will not need it, but it will be nice to know you have it.
My two best tips?
*Drink something when anyone honks… make it a game.
*Drink Gatorade every 3rd drink.
*You will eat weird food. If you’re not lucky enough to “lose” your tent mate to dehydration … be sure you bring something to help you with boofies… had I had a roommate that first night, I’m sure I would have silently killed her in the night. Tents don’t have gas sensors.
OK … I love you. I pledge a donation … just holding out to double it.
Please let me know your route. One of the nicest.. pleasant wastes of time… was seeing people on the route. And no I promise I won’t deliver you to the next stop. LOL"

