Tuesday, July 29, 2008
Yet Another Addiction, just what I needed
I've been looking for a way to create a picture movie. One of the PhotoGods introduced me to Microsoft Photo Story (Free to download if you wish). And man is it easy. If you have Vista you get Microsoft Movie Maker and DVD Maker with Vista. You can use those to create a DVD of movies and copy them to give to friends and family you know are just dying to see your photos. Within days I created a half dozen or so "movies" of some of my favorite pictures. I haven't yet figured out how to post them to the blog without putting them on YouTube, but "watch this space" because I'm gonna.
NOW...as if that wasn't enough to keep me procrastinating from doing real work. THIS came into view. Scrapblog. It's a free online tool that let's you "scrapbook" digitally and publish these scrapbooks. So I had to play with it to see how easy it was. And in a matter of minutes I was able to create three very simple pages very quickly. AND if gives you directions to publishing it to your blog. So this is a test. For the next 30 seconds ....
It was a copy and paste and voila! I'm in trouble now though. I feel the "need" to go and scrapbook...digitally. This is bad. I'm not going to get ANYTHING done now!
And another shout out...
HOPPIN' HEATHER - YOU ROCK! It's rare that people surprise me, but you did. Thanks a million. And for the record, if you do bring fudge icecream to the finish line, you will be expected to hand it over.
Sunday, July 27, 2008
Paper or Plastic?
The weekend walking schedule is being slightly modified. Blueberry and I took off yesterday from Greenlake to a good friends house for an "all girls" brunch. A good friend of mine was in town and all us girls from former Geeksoft days got together with all their kids and got caught up. We walked back to Greenlake and around Greenlake. Stopping at Super Jock and Jills for new shoes! Yep, I got new shoes. The "kickass helper guy", who was not only H.O.T, but helpful. Two great tastes that taste great together. I tried on several types of shoes trying to find a pair that would help my sore balls of my foot. Ended up buying another pair of Brooks. I tried on a pink pair too and SOOOO wanted them to work right, but Asics and I don't get along. But they were very pink and very cool looking shoes. Just not for me. I bought these "blue" ones instead. If you look closely enough you can see pink...really. Trust me. I see pink.Anyhow, here are the Geeksoft Girls. From left to right: Kara (the one responsible for me knowing and loving DMQ), Me - lookin' all tired but hydrated, Rumi - worked with me when I was a subsidiary liaison - the cute little girl is Reina - Rumi's 1 yr old, and finally Jules - responsible for me working at Geeksoft at all, as well as working with me as a subsidiary liaison too. Kara moved to Ellensburg some time ago and we rarely get to see her.
Today, Blueberry experienced a comedy of errors trying to get out the door to go walk 14 with a new team. Not only is it raining outside and the thought of walking 14 miles in rain really doesn't do it for me. Yes. Yes. I know if it rains during the 3 Day we'll have to walk - which I might add is easy for you to say sitting in your warm place all not wet for 6+ hours. Anyhow, Blueberry's alarm didn't go off so she called at 6AM (when she was supposed to be here) and said she was on her way in 10. I walked out to the car to sit and wait for her and managed to slip off the curb and went down on my knee. My cell phone ended up in a puddle so it's airing out (Maybe it won't work and I'll get to go buy the pink one I've been eye balling). We got in the car and drove to the freeway entrance only to decide to not walk in the rain. Turned around, went to Starbucks, and am sitting here writing a blog. We will go 5-10 later today when the sun comes out, or the rain stops. If not we may walk down to the theater and see Batman!
Okay, off to ice my knee.
Friday, July 25, 2008
What Kind of World Do you Want?
So that got me thinking, what kind of mark am I leaving? Some would argue that having children leave a mark (and some would argue that the children themselves ARE a mark). Well, I’m not likely to have children at this point, so what now? Where am I leaving a mark? Where do I want to leave a mark? What excites me? What am I passionate about? Then it hit me like a ton of bricks…PINK!
Here I am putting in an enormous amount of energy and emotion into supporting and participating in a breast cancer event. But when it’s over, what then? Am I going to just check it off my list and move on? Or is there room for me to keep giving? I found, there’s room. I have been doing research on breast cancer and have found some startling statistics that quite frankly scare the living bejesus out of me. I’m convinced that education and early detection will help increase the number of survivors. And so, I signed up. I signed up to volunteer for the local Susan G. Komen affiliate.
I met with the volunteer coordinator earlier this week and their executive director (who happens to be our former Governor’s wife) and the passion these two women displayed about their work removed any second thoughts I might have had. They talked to me about what Susan G. Komen (from here on out SGK and I’m referring to the Washington affiliate) spends their money on and I knew I was in the right place. 70% of their money is being spent on early detection with not just affluent women, but those women who may be less financially stable, or have a cultural barrier. They found through research that a lot of women who are perhaps a different ethnic group don’t discuss breast health or the need to pay attention to it. And the numbers of deaths in that group was larger than most, so the focus goes there. Which I think is fantastic.
Then they discussed all the other programs they support. They have a program that if you are diagnosed and you can’t pay your mortgage, they’ll pay it for you. Or help you with other bills if you need it. That’s amazing and I must be a part of this. This is going to be my mark. My mark will be pink!
And as if that isn’t enough pink, the new pink pack was delivered yesterday with some new pink scrapbook paper, new pink crock flip flops, a delivery from the breast cancer shop and 29 lbs of Salmon. My apartment looks like a cardboard box of pink and black cat hair blew up in it!
The walk is now 7 weeks away. Donations are still coming in and I’m increasingly amazed at the generosity of people. So a few more shout outs!
Nelson Mandella’s BFF – I too hope to see you at the finish line and I too hope I’m still walking and not sitting in a wheel chair. Thanks for your donation!
PM Instructor/friend – We do really need to get a happy hour on the calendar, I can then thank you in person. But before then, THANK YOU!
Hank Dodge and Snapshot Katie – I have no idea who you are, but you most certainly must be angels from somewhere. Thank you for your donation!
The Newlyweds – here in a couple more months I’m going to have to come up with a new code name for you two since you will have been married for a year. You both have been fantastic supporters of me from the start of this journey, so thank you.
This weekend should be a 24 mile weekend. 10 tomorrow and 14 or 16 on Sunday. I say "or" because it'll depend on how good I feel at 14 as to whether we'll take a 2 mile loop to make it 16. But thankfully where this walk will end they will be two of my favorite things: A Starbucks AND a 7-11. Two great tastes that taste - wait - nevermind!
Monday, July 21, 2008
The Flamingo's Are coming...
Well, as it would have it on our trek out on Sunday we passed the Woodland Park Zoo. I've not been to the zoo in forever and thought how fun it would be to go again. It's been on the list for PhotoGods, but when to go. Well, I think this picture says it all.
Yes, that's right. I'll be scheduling a trip to the zoo very soon. Last time I was there was in - um -er - um - 2001? Maybe. The cost has gone up, that's for sure, but it should be worth the entertainment. I'll most likely go on a week night to avoid the little people en masse. Wanna come with me? I'll buy the popcorn!
In other interesting news, I have my first official battle scar. You can't see it because it's covered in color, but it's there. I saw it myself, and Blueberry was my witness. I have a blue toe nail. According to my pedicure woman it's only half the toe so I won't lose the nail, but it sure is ugly. I'm just so proud to have a battle scar. It shows me I'm really a true walker now.
Blueberry surprised me this weekend with a fun little gift. She knows, and appreciates, my sudden, inexplicable love for pink. So she found these. Aren't they cool?
Don't be jealous! Not everyone can have such beautiful flip flops. And in case you want to see all of this week's sexy walking photos...visit my flicker site.
Sunday, July 20, 2008
But I would walk 500 miles, And I would walk 500 more, Just to be the man who walked 1000 miles,To fall down at your door
Last night we met at BigBro's house and took out for a 12 ish death march walk. After walking through a native Seattle park on the water, we headed to University Village, then up 25th to home. Because we were walking during the at dinner time, we "had" to stop at MickyD's for cheeseburgers. There's something about that salt craving that just makes me want a McDonald's cheeseburger. So after stopping for a bite we headed home. Ended up 12.95 miles total.
The important thing to note though is I FELT GREAT. I didn't really tire out as early as I used to, I wasn't in any pain, it was just great. I was sure getting up this morning I'd be all sore and everything, but my Hanna Montana Arnica Montana cream that ChickenLady recommended is AWESOME. No real pain.
This morning we were up at o'dark thirty (okay well 7:30) then we were off to downtown Seattle to go to the Bite of Seattle. I felt great this morning too. I hopped out of bed with no pain, and was ready to boogy on down to Seattle. We met at Northgate and headed into downtown. We stopped at Starbucks in Fremont for their new Vivanno drink (chocolate banana is ZOMG sooo good). Fremont is a rather unusual area of Seattle. They have several "colorful" people down there.
Outside of Fremont, Seattle is just 3 miles down the road. We got to the bite, and we were hungry. The smells as you walk through all the food being made available...it was so hard to decide. Until....until we came across a Filipino restaurant offering pansat and lumpia. I love it. So we grabbed a plate full and found ourselves sitting watching people for about 30 minutes. It was hot, sunny and tons of people watching. Delicious. Blueberry and I "had" to finish the day off (I think I may be regretting that now).
We hopped on a bus and headed home to Northgate (I hear all of you out there asking, "Why didn't you walk?" It may have been a bit too much for us this weekend - maybe).
BigBro has been a zipfizz fan for two years now and has talked ZipFizz into sending samples to us. In fact, read all about him from last years 3Day by clicking here (scroll down to the #5 and see his photo and testimonial). Anyhow, we had to send back a team photo in the ZipFizz shirts and hats today. So back at Northgate we hopped in our ZipFizz clothing and snapped a shot or two.
Thursday, July 17, 2008
Got a package full of wishes, A time machine, a magic wand, A globe made out of gold
I walk for hope
I walk to feel
I walk for the truth for all that is real
I walk for your mother, your sister, your wife
I walk for you and me my friend
I walk for life

Sunday, July 13, 2008
Sunday's are such sad days
This weekend was somewhat uneventful in that I didn't do anything - well eventful. BigBro and I walked 10 miles yesterday. I hit a wall again at about mile 6. I just had to sit down. I was drained. I even had breakfast for a change. I chugged some zipfizz and we were off. I tried to talk him into shortening our route, but the big meany wouldn't let me. Brothers! (Hi BigBro! - Just kidding).
Last night was a house warming at The Newlyweds new digs. Oh. My. God. They sure know how to make a house a home. It was decorated as if Martha Stewart lived there. Everything fit perfectly together and was just so fresh and fantastic. I was totally jealous! But still I came home to my little digs and felt just fine about what I have. Me and the Big Black Beast of Burden are doing just fine. Still, their house is great! No jealousy here.
Before I forget, another shout out!
Thanks to the Sister of THE GROOM of the Newlyweds for you and your husbands generous donation and Matching gift form. I sooo appreciate your support.
Blueberry stopped by for a walk and we made dinner too. Another bomb-diggity meal from the great bowl of recipes. It made 4000 gallons of casserole. Anyone hungry?
Monday, July 07, 2008
Two things One should never take together
PLUS
EQUALS
I'm just sayin'. I don't recommend it. And in case you can't tell, that toothpaste is Orange and Mango! Right!
Now your asking what on earth made me buy Orange and Mango toothpaste. Well, just sit right back and you'll hear a tale, a tale of a fateful trip, that started from... oh wait, different story. (For those non American types who read this blog, you might know this song by visiting the show it goes to.
So normal, standard everyday toothpaste is too harsh for me. It burns my mouth and so makes brushing no fun, and consequently one does not brush as long as one should brush one's tuffies. (2-3 minutes minimum those dentist types say. ) . Enter Orange Mango toothpaste. Tom's Natural Toothpaste has long since been my fave, and while at Super Supplements buying arnica montana (in a cream not a plant) I stumbled onto different flavors of Tom's. Being adventurers and thinking I'd change it up, I bought it. Only it never occurred to me until the first brushing and first swig of Crest mouthwash that the two had a familiar gross factor.
In other news I dusted off the scrapbooking supplies yesterday and managed three pages of my UK trip. Yes, if you recall, that trip was exactly one year ago this week. ONE YEAR! Doesn't seem possible, and yet it is. So enjoy these new additions to my UK scrapbook.

Sunday, July 06, 2008
It seems my work never stops, rooms turn into rooms
I started in the morning by strapping on the blister creating shoes and thought a quick 5 mile walk would help me sort out what all needs to be done. Covering the blister appropriately and medically, I headed 300 yards to my mailbox. Whined the entire way. Turned around and came home. Have I mentioned I have a zero threshold for pain. Stupid blister. It's still open and isn't scabbing over yet so it hurts. "Fine" I thought. If I can't walk, then I'll get to my list.
Switching to open back sandals, I headed out.
1. First stop - local scrapbook store. I am on a search for some specific Survivor stickers. They didn't have them. And shock of shocks, I made it in and out of this store without buying a single solitary item. Not even adhesive, which I swear I always need and don't. Yes, go back. Reread that. I didn't buy a thing.
2. Off to Blueberry's house to kick - er ah - feed and water the devil cat and Muffin. All seemed well there, so tried to pet the beasts and was unsuccessful. Oh well. Their loss.
3. Stopped to fill my propane tank. It was hissing during the great BBQ adventure of Friday night so I figured it was time. It had been about a year or so it seems since last I filled it. In fact, the last time I filled it was when the Moron guy was shocked by being stung by a bee when he grabbed it out of mid air. Interestingly enough, same moron filled my tank this time. Though this time, in line ahead of me was one of our many local rednecks. He was filling his 1975 Chevy truck with propane. He was telling the attendant - who barely speaks Engrish (yes that's spelled correctly. If you say it out loud you can figure out the nationality - wow...that's quite unPC of me. Huh.) Anyhow, said redneck was proud that he converted this POS into a propane burning truck. He was saving our environment. As he puffed on a smoke, and tossed the dead butt onto the ground. Oh the irony.
4. I managed to not insult a stupid woman who was walking down the center of the road, clearly out of her mind. What? That's productive.
5. Stopped at Starbucks for a much needed Grande Vanilla Americano with Xtra room. Only I didn't get extra room. I got no room. Asked the barista, quite nicely I might add, to remake it. She did with great pleasure.
6. Got Light up my life stuck in my head! (Stop laughing PMDude or I'll sing it for you).
7. Went grocery shopping. I had picked out my two new recipes for this week (Chicken Piccata Toss and Mooshu Beef). Managed to get in and out of the grocery store with only the items on my list. Sweet! Twice in a day now.
8. Unloaded groceries, had to clean out fridge to allow for new groceries. Which led to cleaning the kitchen. Which included, bleaching my counter tops AND mopping. I hate mopping. Wow, sparkly clean.
9. Started laundry. Including all my bedding. Too much black cat fur for a normal bedspread. Blasted Cat.
10. Considered shaving the cat. Made a pro and con list. Cat managed to escape this time.
11. Vacuumed. See above mentioned black fur. I'm sure his goal in life it to cover every floor and piece of furniture with black fur. I think its in the cat's list of things to do.
12. Got slightly motivated to scrapbook. Decided instead to organize the piles of clippings of sample layouts. I've been clipping sample layouts out of magazines for 8 or so years now. They sit in a box completely unorganized so I never look at them. Finally I decided to go through them and scan the ones I think I'll use and organize them on the computer. I was very cut throat on which I kept and which got tossed.
13. Took out recycling due to massive amounts of paper. See above.
14. Decided that since I was feeling all organizational and all that perhaps now would be a good time to organize my digital photos. And perhaps burn a back up copy to CD for future safety.
15. Downloaded new photo organization trial. ACDSee. I laughed when I said it out loud and wondered why it would have anything to do with ACDC. Spent next 30 minutes fussing and playing with new trial software. The jury's still out as to whether I think it's good or not. Sure was easy to burn my CDs though. They have a Pro version too that looks like it might be like Photoshop. Downloaded that trial offer too.
16. Decided I needed to organize all the photos from the PhotoGod trips. I tend to print out my photos because I like to look at them and speculate how I'd take it differently and generally beat myself up over a poorly taken photo. So off to Tar-shay (aka Target) for some photo albums. They usually have a good selection and are decent in price. I happened onto the most perfect photo albums.
17. Organized and sorted photography photos into smashing new photo albums. AND dated them and put locations.
18. Gurgle gurgle. Oh. Time for dinner. Chicken Picatta Toss. ZOMG so good.
19. Cleaned kitchen ... again... post piccata.
20. Back to burning CDs. There are hundreds, thousands of photos I took in 2007. Good Lord. Does one person need so many photos? You gotta love digital though. I can take as many photos as I'd like and not really waste any money. I'm ruthless though and delete ones that aren't good. Why keep them? Some argue that I should keep them for posterity. Hah. As if. I toss real live printed photos too. Shudder! I know that puts some of my readers into a tailspin to think I actually throw away a picture. I have an entire garbage can of them now...want them?
21. While the CDs were burning, I decided that perhaps I should *gasp* clean the spare room. My spare room is a lot like a person's junk drawer. When you have something you don't know what to do with it, it goes in the junk drawer...or in my case, the spare room.
22. Freaked out at the time. I looked down after the last CD burned and it was 12:32 AM. Anyone who knows me or reads my blog knows I'm an early to bed kinda girl (with the rare exception of when I go out to see the local band I'm not stalking anymore).
23. Make bed. Blasted laundry. I did debate for a millisecond on whether or not to make the bed. Finally deciding it was like mom telling you to always wear clean underwear in case you're in an accident (of course said accident would soil one's clean underwear I'm sure), if I didn't make my bed for some reason someone would know.
24. Ponder my day in bed trying to sleep. Realizing just how productive of a day it was and how nice it felt to finally get a few things checked off the list. Tomorrow, we'd attempt walking again and then off to Alki to take some pictures, and have dinner with PhotoGirl and The Yank.
Saturday, July 05, 2008
With the brim pulled way down low
t the balls of my right foot tends to get very sore at/around 10 miles +. Yes mom (and Chicken Lady) I am calling the doctor. Anyhow, I had purchased those gel inserts we women have been known to use for high heels. I thought why not try them. I put these little gems in both shoes (It's possible this is what caused the blister on the left foot. The inserts change the dynamics of the shoes so there's a chance.) Anyhow, while my feet hurt yesterday - it was the "OMG I've been on my feet for so long" hurt instead of "OMG I can't take another step without grimacing". I'm thinking for the time these little inserts will do nicely. We'll see today as I head out for a 7 miler. It's quite a difference outside weatherwise from last weekend. It's overcast / pesky light showers and 61 degrees. Almost perfect walking weather. Thursday, July 03, 2008
Never on a Thursday
This L-O-N-G weekend will not go wasted. No sirreeBob. I'm all shades of busy. Just look at the calendar, it never lies. Friday PM:
1. Rest
Sunday AM:
Sunday PM:
Tuesday, July 01, 2008
You've got Mail
Hi Peeps,This is a shout out to all my 3DAY supporters. Since walking the 10 GRUESOME miles on Sunday I've been pondering the 3 Day walk. Training has taken WAY more time than I had thought it would, and quite frankly, it's getting old. But thankfully I have Blueberry and BigBro to keep me motivated.
The 3Day sends out a monthly newsletter just to keep the walkers and crew staff up to date on stuff - like dah, that's what a newsletters for Captain Obvious. Anyhoo, I saw something in the July edition I thought I'd share with all my peeps.
At the expo last month they had a table where we could write letters to people and they'd be delivered at the 3Day to them. Naturally, having a wee bit of sentimental-ness left in my heart, I sent letters to the team. I thought, how fun to get a motivational letter AT the three day to remind yourself when you're feet are sore, you're dead tired, and you quite possibly may have blisters, the EXACT reason you're doing this crazy thing.
So, with no further nonsense.
If you feel so inclined, drop me a line. I guarantee a tear or two and a huge Thank you. (Hah, I'm a poet!). Of course it'll cost you whatever the cost of a stamp is these days. But I promise you, it'll be the best forty something cents you've spent.
"There’s nothing like a letter from a loved one to inspire you to keep going. Your friends, family and supporters can write a letter to you, which we’ll deliver to you on the event at the Breast Cancer 3-Day Camp Post Office.
Send letters to:
Breast Cancer 3-Day Camp Post Office
ATTN: JENNIFER WRASPIR
P.O. Box 70316
Seattle, WA 98107
Envelopes only, please. No boxes or large packages. Mail must be postmarked no later than September 2nd in order to ensure delivery at the Breast Cancer 3-Day Camp Post Office. Any mail that is not retrieved by the walker by October 1st will be destroyed."
Monday, June 30, 2008
Redemption!
Seattle PI has a nice little article about it. (Thanks BigBro for sending).
Sunday, June 29, 2008
Life's To Do List: Walk a Half Marathon - CHECK
The Half Marathon didn't turn out quite like I had thought it would. In fact, I only walked 10 miles. If you can do math, you know that a half marathon is 13 miles. Let me start at the beginning.
The half marathon was to start at Husky Stadium. The "plan" was you were supposed to park at the finish line, and they were going to shuttle people to the starting line. Sherrie and I got to Bellevue early - within time to get on a shuttle and get to the finish line. There were about 100 or so people in line when they announced that the last shuttle had left. That we could either book across the lake to "maybe" get to the start OR we could wait an hour and they'd shuttle us to the second half of the marathon to walk. Ridiculous! The WHOLE reason we were walking in this darn thing was to walk across the floating bridge.
Blueberry and I were hauling. My shin splints were on fire, my legs were hurting, but dammit we were walking across that damn bridge.
We hit mile 4 water hole - keep in mind we were dead last - and the line for the bathroom was 20 minute long. So I stood in line and stretched and got to pee.
Then we were off again. We were doing well. The heat was coming on, but I felt like I was hydrating well. Then it hit me, I hadn't had time to eat my breakfast. Oh god. But now I was so tired and hot, I couldn't even think about eating. And yet, I managed to choke down a half of a bagel.
We hit milepost 5 and 6 and were doing great. Hit mile post 7 and that was the breast cancer supporting milepost, so we stopped to take a photo. Then we were on. Just past this awesome mile we hit THE HILL FROM HELL. I was going to take it slow no matter what. And suddenly we looked behind us and there were three people and that stalker the police car. Half way up this 1/2 mile hill, I stopped to take a breather. I bent down to put my hands on my knees and I felt my eyes roll back into my head and felt like I was going to pass out. Started waving back and forth and some how managed to stay on two feet. We get to the top of this flippin' hill and the police are behind us and these three other people. The three people consisted of a 76 year old, a 68 year old and a woman who was about 60 I would guess. Fantastic people. They were so friendly and so fun to walk with. And the more we walked the more pissed we got that we were being rushed by the police. According to Seafair we had the course until 1pm and it was only 10:30 ish. We had plenty of time. Jerks!
Then we hit mile 8. At mile 8 my right thigh muscle knotted up and cramped like I've never felt anything cramp before. My god. I couldn't barely stand on the damn thing. So I hopped in the back of the Seafair car and stretched it out. The cops had given up on us and we were only be followed by the official seafair car. I sat in the car for a mile or so when we came head to head to a truck picking up the cones that marked the route. WHAT! It wasn't even 11 am yet and they were picking up the cones. So I hopped out of the car and started walking with the 3 folks we had been with from like mile 6. Then we realized we had no idea where the hell we were going.
Oh and what about Blueberry? When I hopped in the car, she put herself into high gear and took off. Our plan was to meet at the finish line.
So I hopped out and walked a mile to the park which was where we started the morning. We had no idea where the route went so we couldn't go any further. We decided to walk across the park to the finish line anyhow. F*uck em was our attitude. The one lady was fired up. We were both pissed that they had screwed up the race from the first thing this morning. When we started we were effectively 30 minutes behind the ENTIRE race.
We walked across the park and through the finish line. Then I stood there and waited about 15 minutes for Blueberry to walk through. So while I didn't walk all 13 miles and ended up only walking 10.2 or so, I still felt like I had achieved a half marathon. Had they not screwed it up in the beginning I totally would have walked the whole way. But the combination of 1) no breakfast, 2) starting 30 minutes late 3) waiting 20 minutes for a bathroom and 4) walking faster than ever the first 4 miles...I totally would have made it.
Friday, June 27, 2008
Look all around, there's nothin' but blue skies
Shortly after posting that said band has unceremoniously fired their lead singer (who I had a wee crush on) I determine then I must focus my "crush" energy on another member of the band. But who? Who will be the lucky lad? I decide the lead guitarist. He seems the friendliest and the one I've actually spoke words too instead of drooling and babbling over. So there. Decision made. THEN I find out he got married. My life has been in a tailspin ever since. I have no place to focus the jenn crush energy. It's just hanging above me like a depressed grey cloud.
But here it is Friday. The skies are clear and blue. The sun is shining. It's damn hot outside and promises to get hotter this weekend, so I can't even manage a depressed feeling in my body.
Yay!
This week has been s-l-o-w at work. Things are winding down for the end of fiscal year at the large software company we support, so things for us are slow. Which for the "Miss Organization" personality to finally make an appearance. So this week I've been cleaning out files, updating much needed project plans (note: not project schedules. Everyone calls project schedules "plans" and it bugs the sh*t out of me), filing, deleting emails, etc. Overall quite productive. None of it chargeable, but productive.
This weekend is the half marathon. Funny, I wasn't at all worried about this 13 mile trek through the streets of Bellevue - across on of our famous floating bridges - and ending at Husky Stadium - UNTIL....I saw the weather report. Oh my giddy aunt. It's going to be 90 flippin' degrees on Sunday. You laugh! But 90 while sitting by a pool sipping a beverage is just great. 90 walking 13 miles isn't so great. If you recall, last time I walked in such weather I almost killed myself by not hydrating enough. So yes, I learned from that stupid mistake. I've been pounding water for two days now. AND I plan on carbing up Saturday night. The plan is to hit the pavement fast and hard for the first 6 or so miles. Then we can slow down some once we change our sockey-s and walk on home. Blueberry will be walking with me. BeagleBabe got a new job and stopped training so I was left to walk alone...then I thought Blue - who had to walk this weekend anyhow - would want to do it. Indeed she did.
But before I go, I've been remiss in sending out a few shout outs to recent donors. I'm at $3,400 - if you can believe it! None of it would be possible without several folks who read this blog.
So....
PM GODDESS! Thanks! I promise next time your in town to take you for a cosmo.
Ritzeville Rita! God Bless. It wa not only GREAT to see you and your family, but thank you soooo much for your donation.
Wish me luck. And HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!
Wednesday, June 25, 2008
The Boys are back in town...sorta!
You don't recognize them do you? Well, No you wouldn't. But that there are my boys at DMQ. I, they're main stalker, didn't recognize them. It was a sad sad day for me yesterday when I realized the front guy had been fired. So sad. Then to find out the keyboardist had quit! Man, no wonder these boys hadn't been around lately.
They do still have that DMQ sound, as the video suggests - did you notice the HOT babe at the end of the video. Yah, that hotness... me! And that bright light on my face? The sun! I know! Sun in Seattle. No way! But it's true. I have proof.
Sorry I posted that before it's time. I wanted to be sure you all got a good glimpse of the HOT chick at the end of the video... So here's a photo just in case you missed. it.
Stop staring at my beers!
The party going on behind me was a 35th Anniversary for Ray's Boathouse. An icon on the Seattle waterfront (well north of the waterfront). The sun was shining, the wind was blowing, but we didn't care. It was free food and drink all night long. The food was spectacular. I've never seen such an outstanding display of delicious food - well for free anyhow.
So the quote of the night came from HikerGirl. I can't set it up for you because out of context is much funnier.
HikerGirl: "I'm surprised I can hold something in my mouth that long without swallowing."
Monday, June 23, 2008
Thoughts as the Day Goes By
Shake'NBake - Who buys this stuff? Oh, I do. For some ungodly known reason I bought ShakeNBake. Now being a amateur chef (in my own mind anyhow) I couldn't understand why this was in my cabinet. Ick, BTW. I cooked it today and ICK. Sunday, June 22, 2008
Whole Lot of Naked Going On
Friday night, Saving Second Base walked 7ish miles. I need to get back caught up with the team who managed to walk 36 miles in one weekend without me. Which is good for them because I would have definitely held them back considering my foot "issue". So yay team. Fundraising wise, we raised our team goal to $15,000 and I have no doubt we'll make it. Blueberry was rather excited on Friday because she finally passed me in fundraising. She's around $3500, I'm around $3400 and BigBro (who will surpass us both I'm sure) $2700. Blue and BigBro walked in the Race for the Cure yesterday. It's a meesley 5K walk - but took them about 2 hours because of all the people.
Why wasn't I walking? Well its two fold. One, I get all anxious around large crowds of people and the walk goes across a very scary viaduct that I'm sure is going to collapse while walking.
Instead myself and a companion from the PhotoGods - Mr. Volleyball, went to the Seattle Solstice parade for our monthly photography adventure. We were planning sunsets lighting this month, but in Seattle the sun doesn't actually set until 9:30 ish. Too late for this girl. So Mr. Volleyball and I decided the parade was a an excellent opportunity to photograph people.
This parade is legendary in Seattle. Historically, its a naked parade. It allows all types to display themselves if so desired. Most naked is painted though so it's not as scary as one might think. In fact their website describes it the best: "unparalleled demonstration of free speech, creativity, art and community, we cast a spell of joy, hope and rebirth that spreads from Fremont to the entire universe." But let me tell you, birthday suits for some should stay well hung in the closet.
I took some fantastic photos. I not very good at taking people photos because I frequently feel like I'm intruding on them. But with a 200mm lens it helped me take photos from afar. Well, that and most people want their photo taken at this parade. Check out all my photos by clicking here. They do not disappoint I guarantee. But never fear, hear are a couple of my favorites.
This little player thing was just sitting there asking to have it's picture taken. I really like the way this one turned out. I'd like to say it was planned, but I think this one was one of those "quick" shots.
I took several photos of this guy from the front, but I remembered a trick from my days in Europe where you were taught to always look up to see the masterpiece. I figured the fronts of a lot of these people were spectacular, but their backs could be as well. This one, like the other, really was an accident. He was sitting under a tree and the lighting turned out just perfect.
This little clown was just a happy little guy. He had a flower pin on him that shot water and he thought it was just hilarious. Mr. Volleyball asked this little guy to shoot off his pin again and he was all too willing.
It's the Incredible Hulk
And Mr. Blue Jeans!
So check out the rest. It's a collection of photos I'm very proud of.
Then last night I finally got to the theater, forked over one arm and one leg, and got to see Sex in the City. Oh.My.God Mr. Big is all that and a slice of bread. Despite his assh*leness...he's a hunk and a half.
I've managed to come down with one fantastic cold. I hate being sick. It slows me down. And this coming week I get to see my boys ... finally. And cold or not, I will not miss this concert. It is on a school night so I hope I can stay awake.
Wednesday, June 18, 2008
Where has the man gone?
I know the brain that now controls my dad isn't my dad. I know that. Logically! I know that. But what makes it so hard is to SEE the man who is your dad, and trying to reconcile with the fact that behind those beautiful brown eyes that once twinkled with a vibrant life, now lives a different person, no twinkle, no life. I wonder, all too frequently, if he ever gets a glimpse of his former self. Or if he sees and recognizes the person he becomes and gets scared knowing he can’t control anything? I wonder how frustrating it might be for him to know, perhaps, that he’s not the man he once was, but still wants to be. I miss that man.
I sometime sit and watch him and feel sad for the things in my life he will miss out on. If he is alive to walk me down the aisle, will he remember? Will he want to? Will he even know who I am?
I did well this trip to not take his bait to argue. See early stages of this disease makes them argumentative. It is one of the most difficult things for me, because I love to argue. But arguing with him is useless. His logic is generally off, and he has no respect for any truthful information of fact. If he doesn't believe it, then it isn't so. Dad and I used to discuss things like politics, religion, races, etc and while he frequently didn't agree with me, he respected my opinions. His responses are so matter of fact, and are often delivered in a “thou shalt not argue” tone of voice. He shuts you down and won’t even listen to reason or your opinion.
So, I miss him. But as long as the "man" is with us, I'm going to do my best to practice patience with him.
In other news, I made a KICKASS stroganoff tonight. I do love me some good stroganoff.
Sunday, June 15, 2008
All Grown Up! I really wanna shout it out!
It was the time of life where you knew everything, and yet you were scared to death that you would make a wrong decision and end up a loser at your 5 year reunion. It was the time of life where anything seemed possible. Where you feel like you could be anything you wanted to be, and you knew, just knew, that you were on the road to greatness. You had no real idea what the world was like, nor did you care. You figured you'd learn as you go. You expected things to come somewhat easy to you, since they always did. You could feel the power of growth. That very moment you took the diploma (or cardboard plaque that was to hold your diploma) in your hand, you knew you were on your way.
I thought back to my graduation some 21 years ago and about how things have changed ever so slightly. My final years in high school were, I'm sure, unlike most high school years in a public school. Just about everyone in our class was moving on to college. There didn't seem to be an option really, it was just what your next step would be. Some didn't make it all the way through, some flew through and never looked back. But I remember thinking that finally, I was an adult. Turning 18 didn't make me feel like an adult, but somehow graduating from high school meant that I could now sit at the adult table at Thanksgiving or Christmas (I'd later realize the kids table was way more fun and would want to go back to it). I was confident that college would be fun and "easy", but at the same time I was moving from a 57 member class to a class of thousands. I worried about fitting in. When the reality was, no buddy really cared in college. You made your own group of friends and that was really all you cared about.
I'm proud of SportyNiece for graduating and making it through high school in a time when stability wasn't something you knew or expected. I can tell you though, you couldn't pay me enough to go back to high school these days. No way. No how. I'd never make it. SportyNiece's future is yet to be determined. She's thinking Army reserves, for potentially becoming a Nurse. I say go for it. What better way to get your education than to let the military pay for it. Granted I'm not all that happy of where she may be shipped off to, but military would be good for her.
The rest of the weekend was party central at BigBro's abode. Graduation party for SportyNiece on Saturday and Father's Day party on Sunday. I'm pooped. And all I did was attend these parties.
Thursday, June 12, 2008
S.H.I.T Day - Sure Happy It's Thursday!
Patron Saint has a meme tag on her blog and I thought it would be fun to do.
1) What were you doing 10 years ago?
I can barely remember what I did yesterday, so 10 years is going to be a struggle. Let's see that would make it 1998, right? That means about this time I was getting riffed (laid-off / fired depending on who you ask) at Geeksoft and sitting alone in my apt wondering if McDonald's was hiring. That was a sucky summer. My self-esteem was in the toilet, I had a horrible roommate that I just moved in with, and I was quickly going to be broke. BUT, shortly following my pity party I was hired as a contract employee back at Geeksoft. AND I think that was when I met one of the Mike's in my life that I was then attracted to and destined to have a broken heart over. Good times. I'm glad that's over.
2) What are 5 things on your to-do list today?
Only 5, hmmm. Well, getting up and getting to work wasn't really on my "list" of things to do today, but I feel very accomplished that I did in fact make it in. Other items include: writing 2 project plans (my favorite), completing my already late month end report (another "oh joy" favorite), attempting to build a project schedule in an almost impossible timeframe, and have lunch. I should mention that on my daily list is "go to Starbucks" and that one I can say has been checked off.
3) List some snacks you enjoy:
Does coffee count as a "snack"? If not, I love pretzels. Low in fat, high in sodium usually. I do like to get my not so good for me snacks on too. I'd like to change that, but have been bad at planning. My snack food mostly consists of chip like items, with a few, very few, vegetables mixed in.
4) What would you do with a billion dollars?
Wow. A billion dollars. I'd definitely quit my job. And I'd definitely travel. Perhaps even purchasing my very own airplane so I could travel in style. I think I'd pay the ParentalUnits back any "so called" money I still owe them. I'd buy a house, well, and a hanger to house the plan in. Realistically, if I had money that I could toss to the wind, I'd seriously consider opening a coffee shop on some trendy street here in Seattle. Oooo and I'd buy real Prada hand bags. I might even donate a few million to my favorite charities.
5) List the places you have lived:
You'd better go get a snack. It might be easier to list where I haven't lived.
Houston, TX
Albuquerque, NM
Minot, ND
Trenton, NJ (I think Trenton - I was too young to really know)
Great Falls, MT
Lancaster, CA
Lugano Switzerland
Guadalajara Mexico
Riyadh Saudi Arabia
Pullman, WA
Kirkland, WA
Renton, WA - couple different times/places
Kent, WA
Bellevue, WA - couple different times/places
Redmond, WA
And most recently, Lynnwood, WA
6) List the jobs you've had:
Barista, house cleaner, secretary, marketing coordinator, assistant account manager, resource coordinator, deli clerk (college), front desk receptionist (college), scrapbook store sales person (two different stores), international customer service, subsidiary liaison, customer experience manager, program administrator, channel mgmt project manager, and finally Project Management Goddess! I think I need to retire.
okay, now back to being a PM Goddess.
Monday, June 09, 2008
Traffic Jam of the Brain...Makes me want to Scream and Shout
My work and personal email is at an all time high. If you've sent me an email, expect a response by 2010.
The flight home was relatively uneventful. I was at the airport early - as usual - for my 7:30 AM flight out only to find out they moved the flight to 8:30AM. So I did what any normal, warm blooded, traveling princess would do, I found a Starbucks. My first cup of "real" coffee in as many days. Oh it tasted good.
I checked in, managed my way through a frighteningly quick security check point, and voila - another Starbucks. Well, don't mind if I do. Grande Vanilla Americano with Extra Room - part two.
But I wasn't done yet. In fact, at the point when I reached Denver and located a Starbucks almost immediately, I started thinking I might, just maybe, be addicted to Starbucks coffee. Maybe. There's a chance. I'm just sayin.
As I said, it sure feels good to be home. No matter how nice it is to go away for a bit, it sure is nice to come home. I've heard nothing but lip from the feline that resides here. You'd think he was left for weeks without food or water. Brat.
I was talked into seeing the worlds dumbest movie yesterday. The new Indiana Jones movie - my god - don't waste your time. While I was a big Indy fan, I looked forward to seeing this movie. But was sadly disappointed. No plot. Harrison might be just a bit too old now to play such a character. And the ridiculously outlandish things that took place in this film. Yes, I realize it's a movie, but at least make it some what real. If you haven't seen it yet, I would say, save your money. Go buy some coffee or something.
The ParentalUnits come in tomorrow. They'll be here a week or so for doctor visits and my niece's high school graduation. Hard to believe she's graduating since it was just yesterday she was born.
And just because you asked nice, the first Orlando photos (well the second) have been posted. Kennedy Space Center photos. Enjoy. Already posted were my "photography" photos.
Friday, June 06, 2008
I can't feel my face - Part DERRRR
The show is done. At least for me. Next week a new, fresh set of people arrive to make the same bloody mistakes I've made this week. The food, the parties, the numb face...You'd think we'd learn. But them folks at Geeksoft can surely throw a party.
Last night was the "official" party for all attendees and staff folk like myself. Geeksoft rented Universal Studios and basically shut it down after hours so we could enjoy ourselves. I marveled at the expense the must go to just for the sake of entertaining us and their way of saying thank you. Upon entering the half empty park you are swarmed by people offering their goods. Not those goods, sheesh. I mean food. By the time we were just 20 steps in we were offered GYNORMOUS turkey legs, bags of chips, cotton candy, M&Ms, beer, wine, you name it, it was offered up. We, naturally felt obliged to take part. Our first stop, however was the VIP showing of T2 in 3D. Little did we know - or rather that we didn't read the invite - that it was an award ceremony for people we didn't know and could care less about. We it was free food and free drink. We couldn't say no.
After those festivities, we wondered the park with 6,000 of our closest friends. The main attraction, The New Simpson's Ride. First let me state, NOT a ride for kids. And second, WHAT A BLAST! It was awesome. But the best ride of the whole night was the MIB (that's Men In Black for those of you not in the know) - it's a ride that allows, you, the passenger to shoot aliens. Naturally the Pointy Head Boss who was sitting next to me was an alien, I had to fire. I got no points for that though. I felt quite smug exiting the ride seeing my score of 83,789, only to have my excitement dashed by UK Bloke #2 who had well over 150K. Kids!
Tonight we managed to - er um - stay relatively sober. Okay so not really, but I wanted to. My flight is at O dark Thirty tomorrow and the last thing I need is a hang over. But Bloke #2 - I admit I gave into peer pressure. He kept calling me a light weight. I couldn't say no. In my younger years, though, as Blueberry and any other college friends who might read this blog, could contest, I would have drank him into a stuper. But now, not so much.
And with that, I bid you farewell from the Land of Or. I'm pooped. I'm in serious need of a Starbucks and I can't wait to feel my face again.
Thursday, June 05, 2008
That's a whole new stack of Monkeys
One thing I can say about Geeksoft tradeshows is they sure know how to do them up right. The after hour parties are so much fun. We had two such parties we had to attend last night. Yes I said "had" to. What? They twisted my arm. I, being the good workaholic, wanted to stay in my room and respond to the hundreds of emails that have now managed to clog my inbox, but noooo they demanded I go out. So what's a girl to do? I had to oblige.
We started at TGIFriday's for a team we've done work with. UK Bloke #1, The Pointed Head Boss and I sat in a room full of architects and ate appetizers and drank beer. Not so exciting. We mingled and ran into our "client" who promptly dismissed us and moved on to another group of folks. So we headed out to party #2 - which proved to be much more exciting.
UK Bloke #2 and Creed met us at this club. The bar was open - free drinks, the food was passed by staff, the music was pumping, and it was freaking hotter than hell outside. But we didn't seem to care. The bar tender at the bar we planted our selves at -which at first didn't make sense to me that we'd sit there - until I saw the "girls". Yah, I asked each man that was with us if they could tell me the color of this chicks eyes. The blank stares I got back were priceless. This girl was L.O.A.D.E.D with some big guns. Not real of course, but UK Bloke #2 - mid 20's - didn't care at all. But this bar tender said to me when I ordered my cosmopolitan "I make mine with cranberry juice - is that okay?" Erm....cosmos have cranberry juice in every single one I've tasted. But whatever. I said sure I sure I'd try something new. "Amber" (that's what I called her because I was sure if we put a poll in the middle of the bar she'd hop on it and show us her "other" talent.) dropped a drink in front of me that was weak but tasty.
Speaking of Amber, the best quote of the night came from Creed. Amber dropped by and asked how we liked the food. I told her to help herself to a nibble (which got laughs from UK Bloke #2) and she responded by saying if she ate that piece of chicken that we'd see her stomach in this tight shirt she was wearing. Creed pipes up and says, "Honey, it's not your stomach these guys are looking at." Classic.
So why a whole new stack of monkeys? Well, the most annoying and most popular give away at the show thus far are these freaking flying monkeys. I've got two now to bring back and annoy Sales with. If you click on the link you'll see how annoying the sound is.
Well, I'm off to another fun filled day of standing, looking gorgeous in a 10X10 booth. Later I'll chat about the "Booth Babes" next door.
Sunday, June 01, 2008
I can't feel my face
I'm drunk. And instead of drunk dailin, I'm drunk blogging. Trouble. Serious trouble. I'm gonna be hurtin tomorrow. I hooked up with our UK folk and well, here I am at almost midnight and I can't feel my face. We started at Capital Grill with champagne...not my normal drink, but OMG so good. Then we had a fantastic bottle of wine. Followed by an after dinner drink, and then a drinks at Tommy Bahamas for a some sort or other popsicle martini thingy ma bob. Either way, I'm toast. Three of them at Tommy's ... we taxi'd our way to the hotel only to find our the hotel bar was closed. Bugger.
We had three drinks there, martini's I might add. And consequently -which I'm surprised I can spell - I'm hammered. Wait I already said that.
Tomorrow we set up shop at TechEd and oh. dear. god...if tonight is any indication of how the week is going to go...I'm in trouble. Big drunkin trouble.
Drunk in Orlando - over and out.